Deactivate a pool member when there is a possibility that you'd will want to reinstate them at a later time. Deactivated members can not login to your pool to view standings, make picks, etc.. However, they are still members of your pool and their picks will be maintained.
Delete a pool member when you want them permanently removed from your pool. Once deleted they can not be recovered.