Table of Contents

    The Women’s World Cup is the highest level of competition in women’s soccer. Only four countries have been able to call themselves World Cup Champions; the United States, Norway, Japan, and Germany. The United States is the winner of the last two World Cups in 2015 and 2019 and will look to continue its success when the World Cup returns in 2023. Australia and New Zealand are set to co-host the upcoming tournament.

    “The Gals”

    The United States Women’s National Team has been particularly dominant in World Cup play, winning four titles: in 1991, 1999, 2015, and 2019. The USWNT is the most successful team in women’s soccer history, with four Olympic gold medals to add to their four World Cup victories. The team was ranked No. 1 by the FIFA Women’s World Rankings from March 2008 to November 2014, the longest consecutive top ranking of any team.

    Their dominance began in 1991 in the first-ever Women’s World Cup. After beating Sweden, Brazil, and Japan in the group stage, they advanced to the knockout stage where they took down Chinese Tapei and Germany. They met Norway in the final, winning 2-1.

    In 1999, the USWNT regained the throne. Led by the legendary Mia Hamm and Brandi Chastain, the US took down China in the final in a penalty shootout. Brandi Chastain scored the winning goal which led to one of the most iconic celebrations in sports history. 

    The current USWNT dynasty has been led by names like Alex Morgan, Abby Wambach, Carli Lloyd, and Hope Solo. They won back-to-back World Cup titles in 2015 and 2019, and Alex Morgan is leading a new crop of players to look for a three-peat this year. 

    Noteworthy Players

    While the official USWNT World Cup roster hasn’t been set, there are plenty of names that we can assume will make the roster when the time comes. Here are some players that will look to make an impact in 2023. 

    Alex Morgan

    Morgan is one of the greatest players in USWNT history, with 206 appearances, 121 goals, 49 assists, and two World Cup titles to her name. She’s an elite striker and will once again play a key role for the USWNT in the upcoming World Cup. 

    Rose Lavalle

    Lavalle is a high-IQ midfielder who excels at creating plays for her teammates. She’s notched 20 assists in her time with the USWNT.

    Megan Rapinoe

    Rapinoe is one of the most storied players to wear the red, white, and blue. She’s a 2019 Ballon d’Or winner, and while her role may not be the same as it once was, she can still make an impact on the pitch.

    Lindsay Horan

    Horan is an elite competitor and a great all-around player. She was the first female soccer player in history to skip college and go to the professional level.

    Trinity Rodman

    Trinity Rodman is one of the younger stars on the USWNT and has a knack for finding the back of the net. She will play a key role in the upcoming World Cup.

    Other Past Winners

    Japan (2011)

    Japan beat the USWNT in a thrilling World Cup final in 2011. Led by Aya Miyama and Homare Sawa, Japan was able to force a draw at the end of extra time against the heavily-favored USWNT. Their 3-1 victory in the penalty shootout secured them a World Cup victory. They became the first Asian team, men or women, to win a World Cup. 

    AP Photo/Michael Probst, File

    Germany (2003, 2007)

    The German women’s national football team has two World Cup titles to their name, winning in 2003 and in 2007. They dominated in both tournaments, allowing two total goals against them in 2003, and zero goals against them in 2007. They continue to be a force in women’s soccer but have not been able to break through for a World Cup victory since 2007. 

    Norway (1995) 

    Norway became the first European nation to win the Women’s World Cup with their 1995 victory over Germany. They dominated in the group stage, outscoring opponents Nigeria, England, and Canada by an overwhelming 17-0 differential. Their knockout stage proved to be slightly more challenging, but that didn’t stop them from advancing to the final and eventually defeating Germany 2-0. 

    2023 Women’s World Cup

    The 2023 Women’s World Cup is scheduled to take place between July 20th and August 20th. Cohosted by Australia and New Zealand, it will be the first World Cup to have two host nations. The two nations beat out Columbia for the right to host with a count of 22 votes to 13. The number of teams has increased from 24 to 32 teams, and the tournament will feature a group stage of eight groups consisting of four teams each. Participants were decided through a variety of continental tournaments, and the final participants are as follows.


    Australia, China, Japan, Philippines, South Korea, Vietnam


    Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia


    Canada, Costa Rica, Haiti, Jamaica, Panama, United States


    Argentina, Brazil, Columbia


    New Zealand


    Denmark, England, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland


    The Women’s World Cup is one of the most exciting events on the sports calendar. The greatest players in the world will be taking the biggest stage and competing for the ultimate prize. With more teams in the tournament compared to the last World Cup and more prize money on the table, you can expect these teams to be competing at the highest level. And of course, RunYourPool has pools for it so you can compete with your friends and watch your favorite nation compete for the title! Create your pool, invite your friends, and play for the ultimate bragging rights. 

    General FAQs

    How to make a sports pool?

    Starting a sports pool is easy with RunYourPool! We have fully customizable settings, dedicated customer support, and we make it easy to invite friends so you can compete against them.

    What is a sports pool?

    Sports pools are games to play with family and friends. With RunYourPool, all you need to do is pick your sport, pick one of our game types, set up your pool, and compete!

    How do I invite people to my pool?

    Inviting friends to your pool is easy with RYP! We provide you with a custom link that you can send out to anyone you would like. We also have a connections feature to allow you to easily invite members to join your pool.

    Who can play in a sports pool?

    Anyone can play in a pool on RunYourPool! With our array of game types throughout multiple sports, there's an option for everyone.

    How much does RunYourPool cost?

    Our pricing tiers are determined by how many members you have in your pool. We have three tiers; Amateur, Pro, and Front Office. Our pricing page provides a breakdown of all three options!

    Is RunYourPool legal?

    RunYourPool is 100% legal. We do not allow any illegal entry fees or gambling on our website.


    Chicago White Sox vs. Detroit Tigers MLB Betting Preview | June 2


    Toronto Blue Jays vs. New York Mets MLB Betting Preview | June 3

    About Author

    Matt K

    Matt is the Social Media Manager at RYP and currently resides in Boston, Massachusetts. He has experience managing social media accounts with agencies, small brands, and large companies. He’s a diehard New England sports fanatic, and if he’s not watching the Celtics, he can be found roaming around Boston discovering all that the city has to offer.

    FIFA World Cup Challenge Pools

    Soccer Pick'em


    UEFA Euro Soccer Pool

    Soccer Pick'em


    UEFA Euro Soccer Pool

    Soccer Pick'em


    World Cup Survivor Pool



    NHL Playoff Pools for 2024

    NHL Pick'em


    NFL 'Credits' Pool for 2024

    NFL Pick'em


    Check Also